ASEAN Collection

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined ASEAN on 7 January 1984, followed by Viet Nam on 28 July 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999, making up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN.


ASEAN Resources


ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) envisions ASEAN as a single market and product base, a highly competitive region, with equitable economic development, and fully integrated into the global economy.

The ASEAN Political-Security Community (APSC) shall aim to ensure that countries in the region live at peace with one another and with the world in a just, democratic and harmonious environment.

The ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community (ASCC) is committed to lifting the quality of life of its people by putting their welfare and well-being at the heart of its activities.

Skip to content